It had to happen sometime…

I could go on and on about how valiantly I have resisted the relentless onslaught of technology, late adopter that I am, but honestly…? I’ve wanted to do this for ages!

I’ve been sending out mass emails about my adventures in Turkey for a few years now; it’s time for the next step. I know that some of my faithful followers will be quite mystified – even intimidated –  by this blogging process, so I’ll try to make it as easy a transition as I can. We’ll figure it out together.

I’m starting my communiqués a little early this season; I don’t leave for my fifth season in Turkey until June 30th.  I’ll ease into blogging with some background info over this week while I familiarize myself with WordPress. I’m hoping a week will be enough time to wrestle with the technicalities, ensure that all my usual companions are along for the ride and round up any new vicarious travelers who’d like to join us.

Then, next Sunday, we’re off!

16 thoughts on “It had to happen sometime…

  1. Congratulations, Karen.

    As an avid reader of your past exploits, this blog is a great idea.. Like Dr. Suess, another rather successful illustrator/writer, I’m sure you’ll continue to do a fantastic job in both mediums – and now so many more people will know about it.

    Looking forward to following your footsteps.

    Bart

    Like

  2. Hi Karen
    Count me in as a fan …. very glad you’ve decided to bow to the pressure & start this blog! Very much looking forward to your posts over the summer.
    Best of luck & safe travels!
    Kathryn Chorney

    Like

  3. Hey! Now you’re ahead of my failing technology Karen – that’s great! Looking forward to reading of your exploits.
    PP

    Like

  4. Love it Karen! I’ve always been so excited to receive an update on your travels (I still have the letters from Abidjan). Take care of yourself.

    Like

  5. This is a great idea, lots of opportunity for dialog. Last years letters were very well done and I am looking forward to this summers adventures. I hope you find some very interesting artifacts that stimulate your creative side.

    Best of everything to you.

    Joe and Jane Coutts

    Like

  6. Karen

    Juliet and I will be following faithfully and with avid interest. You are an amazing writer. You write as well as you draw. Thanks for this exceptional gift to your readers. If you are allowed to share, include some of your illustrations. Can’t wait to read your next post.

    Michael

    Like

Leave a Reply

